I keep your picture

Hidden in plain sight.

And when I cant sleep, I look at that moment in time and imagine I took that picture. And youre smiling at me. And this is for us. Not for anyone else.

I caress the pixels, pondering the future. 

This could be us. This will be us. I hope. 

When Im nervous I open that photo up on my desktop or phone. I pretend you’re with me. That Im not alone. That Im not terrified. 

You tell me I can do this. Its going to be ok. I will succeed. I squeeze your hand and breathe you in. You come close. We kiss.

You taste like resilience. You feel like honey drizzled on butter. And when you hold me close, my body quivers like thunder. 

Leave a Reply

