A list of triggers

that cause me to disassociate

  • talking about disassociation
  • the word “boundary”
  • eating out with my family
  • driving in the car with my family
  • violent, angry screaming
  • high pitched sounds
  • my college campus
  • the dentist
  • lecture halls
  • bathrooms
  • conference rooms
  • cars honking
  • verbal fighting
  • talking about Brother
  • seeing dogs mount each other and no one intervening
  • locks on doors
  • men that look like Rapist
  • older bachelor men
  • Silver Linings Playbook
  • Movie Theaters
  • the right side of the bed
  • someone performing oral sex on me
  • someone groping my breasts
  • December
  • Tim Roth
  • discussing judaism, most anything Jewish
  • My mother sitting next to me at a restaurant
  • messy, disorganized kitchens and living rooms
  • doors shutting loudly
  • creative writing
  • Django Unchained
  • Quentin Tarantino
  • elevators
  • people talking to me about how I will be or want to be pregnant some day
  • fear of being pregnant, accidental pregnancy
  • grocery shopping
  • being silenced
  • hugs
  • back rubs/massages
  • being told what to wear
  • public transportation
  • discussion of pathology of bipolar disorder
  • dismissal of my feelings
  • saying no and people not listening and/or not respecting my boundary
  • the left side of my back–if its touched in a certain way my nervous system goes up in flames.

 

One thought on “A list of triggers

Leave a Reply

