support vs. rescuing

today I was tempted to rescue someone. But I didn’t. I want to save them from their misery and suffering but I could already foresee what would happen to me, emotionally, if I got involved. I would be anxious and tired and overwhelmed by someone else’s problems…and knowing this person, I wouldn’t be able to convince them to get the help they deserve.

I used to believe that if anyone was in distress, it was my job to fix it and to save them from potential fatal harm.

what else would I believe if my mom threatened suicide when she didn’t get what she wanted when I was a kid? it was my conditioning.

but you can support someone and stand by them….listen, reflect back what they’re saying, give them a hug so that they can come to their own decisions. I can’t tell people what to do. I can make a suggestion. They can take it or leave it.

but I don’t have to uproot myself from my own comfort to ensure they wont go killing themselves. that’s not a healthy way of being a friend.

I’m not exactly sure what else to say. I’ve been so tired today. It’s been a very active day….lots of socializing and listening to people.
Tomorrow I’ll recharge.

Tonight I am grateful my significant other is beside me.

Tonight I am grateful for the therapy and the experiences.

Leave a Reply

